top of page

Training Week

What it's like being the newbie.


Training week is when you are "earning your ears" and learning all the ins and outs of your location. Some people start the day after Traditions, others have 1-2 days off before they begin training. Here is what my experience looked like training for QSR at EPCOT!


Sunday

I actually had the day after Traditions off! My roommate (who had been there for 6 months alread) took me around to cast connections and Magic Kingdom costuming. After that, I went to take the cliche Disney University photos with a friend! We also snuck over to the casting building for more photos and had dinner at Disney Springs.


TIP: taking Traditions photos the day after was actually amazing! It gave me the chance to get dolled up and spend more time with friends.



Monday

For my first offical day, I dressed in business casual. I showed up to the Epcot Cast building 1.5 hours early. We met with our trainer and she took us to the computer lab where we spent a lot of time watching safety videos. Then we tried on costumes and had the rest of the day off.


Tuesday

I actually had Tuesday off! Since I still did not have my park pass, I used that time to relax, start this vlog, as well as get chores done.


Wednesday

This was my first day of on the job training! It was so much information... like a lot. I was really glad I took the time the day before to rest and relax.


Thursday

Thursday was really fun because we had "World Exploration Day." This was essentially our tour of Epcot. Each park calls it something different, but if you are in a park location, you will get a tour (my friends in resort locations did not). This day was super fun and got me really excited to be working in Epcot! It also helped me better understand where important locations were such as guest relations, first aid, etc.

This was also the first day I got to visit the parks! Of course, I went to Magic Kingdom and did all my DCP firsts (first ride, first character, first quick service, etc.). We ended the night watching Enchantment (the fireworks show)!!

MY DCP FIRSTS


Friday & Saturday

Both days I just continued training. They were long and exhausting days. My hours were typically 1-10 (8-10 hour shifts for training).


Sunday

Sunday was my assessment day! Basically, we tried each position one last time to make sure we understood what to do. Then we completed our online courses on D-Learn. After that, the leaders gave us questions and discussed more about things they felt were important to our location. To celebrate earning our ears, my fellow trainee and I changed clothes and checked in to Epcot to drink and watch Harmonious. We were official Cast Members!







67 views

Comments


bottom of page